A crochet scarf for Doris in chilly Wisconsin

Using Caron Simply Soft Shadows, color Opal Twist, I crochet a scarf. A very easy pattern that works up fast.

img_0617 img_0622

Using Caron’s Simply Soft Brites “Blue Mint” I made the same scarf. The LACY SCARF pattern is on the skein wrapper.

You need one skein or more if you like a longer scarf and size H (US) (5mm) crochet hook, 8″ wide, 56″ long. I always cut the yarn for the fringe first and use the rest of the skein to make the scarf. That way, I have very little yarn left over.

FRINGE: cut 56 strands, each 15″ long. Holding 4 strands together, fold fringe in half. * Insert hook from wrong side to right side in fist stitch at corner of 1 short end, pull through fold of strands (loop) insert ends into loop and pull tight against edge, repeat from *, working into each cluster along edge (7 fringes). Repeat on other end.

Stitches used: Chain (ch), Double crochet (dc), Single crochet (sc)

Lacy Pattern (1 row repeat)
Row 1: Ch 2, *sc in next 3 spaces, ch 3, work dc in same ch-3 space (cluster made), rep from * across, turn. Note: There will be 7 clusters across each row, worked into the ch-3 spaces of previous row.

SCARF: Ch 26
Foundation row: Begin in 2nd ch from hook, sc in second ch, ch 3, * work 3 dc in same ch as sc, skip 3 ch, sc in next ch, ch 3, repeat from * across, end by working [sc, ch 3, 3 dc] in last ch, turn (7clusters)

Begin Lacy Pattern, work even until piece measures 56″, or you run out of yarn or desired length from beginning.

img_0623 img_0624

Published in: on November 15, 2008 at 12:52 pm  Comments (14)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://abibliophile.wordpress.com/2008/11/15/a-crochet-scarf-for-doris-in-chilly-wisconsin/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

14 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thank you, thank you from chilly Wisconsin. This time of the year I wonder where my brain was when I left warm and sunny CA to come back here. DUH !!!!
    Keep knitting and crocheting Christel, you know what they say about idle fingers………..

  2. I love this scarf, it’s absolutely beautiful. I tried making it but it’s not coming out anything like what I’m seeing in the picture. Is the pattern incorrect or am I just doing something wrong?

    Any help would be appreciated. 🙂

  3. Same here…. the foundation row went well…but I cant figure out which spaces the 3 sc’s are supposed to go? maybe into the 3 dc’s?

  4. This scarf is beautiful! I have tried to make it but it is not coming out like the picture?????? 😦

  5. I had the same problem. I think I figured it out though… at least it isn’t curving anymore…lol

    Ch 26
    Foundation row: In 2nd ch from hook *[sc, ch 3, 3 dc] skip 3 ch*, repeat from * across, end by working [sc, ch 3, 3 dc] in last ch, turn (7clusters)

    Lacy Pattern:Row 1: Ch 2, *sc in next ch-3 space, ch 3, work 3 dc in same ch-3 space (cluster made), rep from * across, turn. Note: There will be 7 clusters across each row, worked into the ch-3 spaces of previous row.

    I think the problem was just a typo. Hopefully this works.

  6. I forgot to type turn for the next row and to continue on for however many inches you desire it to be.

  7. I loved this scarf so much, I stayed up late to finish it. It came out beautifully. Thank you so much.

  8. I ended up adding the fringe last by cutting 4 12″ strands of yarn for each ch 3 at the ends of scarf.I just folded them in half and pulled the middle through the ch 3 so that it would create a loop to pull the ends through, thus tightening in a slipknot fashion.

  9. Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I in finding It really helpful & it helped
    me out a lot. I hope to offer something back and help others like you aided me.

  10. Thanks for sharing your info. I really appreciate your efforts and I will be waiting for
    your further write ups thank you once again.

  11. What i don’t understood is actually how you’re not really much
    more smartly-liked than you might be right now. You are very
    intelligent. You understand therefore considerably in the case
    of this matter, produced me personally imagine it from numerous
    numerous angles. Its like men and women don’t seem to be fascinated until it is one thing to do with Woman gaga! Your own stuffs outstanding. At all times deal with it up!

  12. Please llet me know if you’re looking for a article writer for your blog.
    Yoou have some really great posts and I believe I would bee a
    goodd asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d really like to writre some articles for your blog in exchange for a link back tto
    mine. Pleazse shoot me an e-mail if interested. Kudos!

  13. It’s a good project but there is a few steps that are missing or unclear.

  14. The pattern is wrong for the lacy pattern…3 dc in chain 3 space not 1…


Leave a Reply

