Buy a sweater – make something new.

In my travels through the internet and clicking on links and then another link I found a website:

Knit-A-Square and decided to help the children in South Africa stay warm. Please read the website, if  you knit or crochet, this is a very easy project to help children.

In the spirit of going GREEN, I decided to work with a garment already made. I drove to the Salvation Army thrift-store and found a 100% wool man’s sweater, size XXL, bought it for $6.49 and the minute I got it home started taking it apart and “frogged” (rip-it rip-it) it. I should have taken a photo of the sweater intact, but it was too late when I thought about blogging the project.

One sleeve and the back The colors reminded me of a sunset on a stormy night, brilliant orange going to a shade darker and darker.

Winding the yarn on my ball winder I now have 21 oz of wonderful wool to make squares for the blankets.

21 oz of yarn

img_11952

Published in: on March 21, 2009 at 4:23 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://abibliophile.wordpress.com/2009/03/21/buy-a-sweater-make-something-new/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. A wonderful idea!

    (That yarn is just great — I love the colors; so warm a cozy looking!)

    Beth J.

  2. I need to know how to knit, for this project. I have knitted a little a long time ago so I think I could do this and I would love to. Keep doing what you do so well.

  3. What a brilliant idea! I have friends who buy wool sweaters, felt them, and then use the felt to make really warm mittens! They cut out mitten “shapes” fromt the felted sweaters.


Leave a Reply

